FANDOM


An arc is an area formed between the lines created by extending hash marks or arc lines printed on a ship token to range 3. A ship is in an arc if any part of its base is inside that area.

  • Arcs are measured beyond the base of ships. The portion of any object that lies beneath a ship is not in any of those ship’s arcs.

Standard Arcs Edit

Arc - standard

There are three types of Standard Arcs created from the crossed diagonal arc lines: 1. Front arc (Icon arc standard front): This arc projects in the same direction that the ship is facing. Most ships have a primary Icon arc standard front weapon. Almost all Upgrade cannon, Upgrade torpedo, and Upgrade missile weapons use this arc. 2. Side arcs: These arcs are on the right or left side of ships. 3. Rear arc (Icon arc standard back): This arc projects in the opposite direction that the ship is facing. Some ships have a primary Icon arc standard back weapon.

Bullseye Arc Edit

Arc - bullseye
The bullseye arc is indicated by Icon arc bullseye. This arc is found inside the Icon arc standard front; if something is in a ship's Icon arc bullseye arc, it is also in its Icon arc standard front arc.
Swz01 a4 bullseye diagram

Marksmanship Example

  • The Icon arc bullseye is the width and length of the range ruler.
  • There is no intrinsic effect when a ship attacks a ship in its Icon arc bullseye, but card abilities may refer to it.
  • Example: Marksmanship allows the attacker to change one hit result to a critical hit result, but only against defenders in the bullseye arc.
  • Example: The M12-L Kimogila Fighter has the Dead to Rights ship ability, which prevents the target from modifying their dice with green tokens if the target is in the kimogila's bullseye firing arc.

Full Arc Edit

Arc - full

There are two Full Arcs that use the midway line instead of the printed arc lines.

  1. Full front arc (Icon arc full front): This arc covers all of the area in front of the ship. Some ships have primary Icon arc full front weapons.
  2. Full rear arc (Icon arc full back): This arc covers all of the area behind the ship.

Using the Icon arc full front, Icon arc full back, and extending the midway line to range 3, the following phrases are used to express specific spacial relationships between ships.

  • Behind: If ship A is in the Icon arc full back of ship B and ship A does not cross the midway line of ship B, then ship A is behind ship B.
  • In front of: If ship A is in the Icon arc full front of ship B and ship A does not cross the midway line of ship B, then ship A is in front of ship B.
  • Flanking: If ship A crosses the midway line of ship B, then ship A is flanking ship B.

Turret Arcs Edit

Turret indicator assembly

Unlike other arcs, some weapons use turret arc indicators to select arcs. There are two types of turret arc indicators: single turret (Icon arc single turret) and double turret (Icon arc double turret). During setup, a ship with a primary (or special) Icon arc single turret or Icon arc double turret weapon adds the corresponding turret arc indicator to its base.

Turret indicator - double

The turret arc indicator points toward one of ship’s four standard arcs. The standard arc that the turret arc indicator is pointing toward is a Icon arc single turret in addition to still being a standard arc. While a ship performs a Icon arc single turret attack, it can attack a target that is in its Icon arc single turret arc. A ship with a double turret arc indicator has two Icon arc single turret in opposite directions.

A ship can adjust which standard arc(s) that its turret arc indicator is pointing towards by using the rotate (Icon action rotate) action.

Firing Arcs Edit

A ship’s Firing Arcs include all shaded arcs on the ship’s ship token plus all Icon arc single turret arcs, if any.

  • If an upgrade card gives a ship a Icon arc single turret arc or primary weapon with a specified arc, those arcs are also firing arcs.

FAQ Edit

Q: Can ships that only use Icon arc single turret or Icon arc full front attacks use effects that require the ship to perform a Icon arc standard front attack? (i.e. Fearless, Outmaneuver)

A: No. Note the differences between the requirement of Fearless:

“While you perform a Icon arc standard front primary attack…”

and Punishing One:

“While you perform a primary attack, if the defender is in your Icon arc standard front…”

A Icon arc standard front attack uses the Icon arc standard front icon above the attack value as shown on its ship card. This is different from an attack that is performed against a ship in its Icon arc standard front.

-

Q: When a ship with its turret arc indicator pointing at its Icon arc standard front performs a Icon arc standard front attack, has it also attacked from that Icon arc single turret?

A: No. For example, if a ship equipped with Veteran Turret Gunner performs a primary Icon arc standard front attack, it could use Veteran Turret Gunner’s ability to perform a Icon arc single turret attack even if the turret arc indicator is pointing at its Icon arc standard front.

Some examples of ships with both a turret and forward firing arc include Lancer, HWK, or a ship firing a special weapon that uses the Icon arc standard front (such as an Ion Cannon).

-

Q: Is a ship in its own firing arc?

A: No.

-

Q: Does a ship’s firing arc extend to range 3 even if the weapon using that arc does not?

A: Yes. For example, if Drea Renthal (Scum, BTL-A4 Y-wing) is equipped with a Dorsal Turret, she can use her ability on ships at range 1–3 in her turret arc.

Notes Edit

Abilities referencing arcs: Attack Arc vs Target Position Edit

There are two main ways the arc is referenced by abilities that people tend to mix up. Some abilities refer to the attack arc, meaning the arc used by the weapon being fired. Others refer to the target's location, meaning the arc(s) the target occupies. Knowing the difference will make a lot of card abilities much clearer.

Attack Arc: The arc used by the weapon Edit

Some cards refer to the attack arc. For example, a primary attack or missile fired through the forward arc Icon arc standard front is a forward arc attack.  A primary weapon attack using the rear arc Icon arc standard back is a rear arc attack, even if you're shooting a large ship that is partially also in your forward arc or turret arc.  An attack using the turret Icon arc single turret is a turret arc attack, even if the turret is pointing forward and shooting a target in your forward arc.  Same deal with bullseye Icon arc bullseye and others: the weapon determines the attack arc, not the target's location.

This matters for cards like Outmaneuver, Fearless, Marauder, Hotshot Gunner, etc. Outmaneuver and Fearless won't work if the attack arc was a full front Icon arc full front attack (e.g. YV-666 or Auzituck), a turret Icon arc single turret attack (e.g. Modified YT-1300), a bullseye Icon arc bullseye attack (e.g. Proton Rockets or Heavy Laser Cannon), etc, regardless of the enemy's location. In these examples, the weapon specified an attack arc other than the forward arc Icon arc standard front.

Consider Kavil as a useful example: when he makes a Turret Attack Icon arc single turret, his ability triggers even if the enemy is in your forward arc Icon arc standard front, because his ability only cares about the arc of the weapon used, not the target's location.

Target Location: the arc(s) the target occupies Edit

Many cards refer to the target's location. For example, if you shoot a ship with your turret and they are in front of you, in your forward arc, then an effect that refers to the ship's location will care about that.

Example: the Fang Fighter ability cares only about location, not arc used.  If your enemy is firing a turret pointing sideways, but a portion of your ship is in their forward arc Icon arc standard front and the attack is at range 1, then Concordia Faceoff triggers.

Example: Rear Admiral Chiraneau's ability cares about the target's location (in the full forward arc Icon arc full front or full rear arc Icon arc full back matching your reinforcement), not the type of arc used for the attack (which in RAC's case is always a turret arc Icon arc single turret).

Arcs in ability text can be tricky, but when you remember to distinguish weapon arc vs location arc, most abilities that reference arcs are a lot easier.